Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Friday 3rd April

02 Apr 2020


Friday 3rd April 2020
3.4.20

  Good morning Home School!



Morning work

Get your journals and mark your morning work from Friday. The answers are in the Homework area of the website. Use a pen or a coloured pencil.

 
Y1 Get your sounds cards and find all the cards that make the sounds:
     1) /ai/
     2) /ee/
     3) /igh/
     4) /oa/
     5) /oo/ or /yoo/

Y2 What day is it today? Write the correct word in joined up on the back of your number line. Use your dictionary to check that it is spelt correctly.



English
   
Listen again to all the poems that we have been looking at by Bernard Young.
I'm a cat

I like what I like
The Wizard's dog

Today we are going to write a poem called 'The Witch's Cat'
Look at your ideas from yesterday.
Choose 3 or more of your best ideas and make them into interesting sentences.
Write your sentences in your Home School book. Start each sentence on a new line so that it looks like a poem.

Choose your challenge:
Can I
Use my ideas to write 3 sentence about a cat.
Write several sentences to make a poem.
Start each sentence of the poem on a new line.
Think about the sound and rhythm of Bernard Young’s poems.

Extra Challenge - Tell me what the witch's can doesn't do because he is a witch's cat. Maybe he doesn't play with string like other cats. Maybe he doesn't jump on laps like other cats.

I have started my poem:


The Witch's Cat                3.4.20

The witch's cat doesn't play with string.
He catches stars.

He doesn't jump on laps.
He sleeps on clouds.

But he does hate getting wet.



 

 Maths Year 1  

Get your maths booklet and mark your work from Friday. 


You will need a 10p coin and ten 1p coins. If you don't have any then just cut out 10 small circles to be 1p coins and 1 larger circle to be the 10p coin.

Yesterday we found out that 2p is the same amount as 1p + 1p. So a 2p coin is the same amount has having a 1p coin and another 1p coin. I wander how many 1p coins I would need to make 5p? Can you show me with your 1p coins?

Copy the questions below into your Journal and finish them off.












 



My friend spotted that 10p and 1p sounds a bit like tens and ones. I told her that we were using tens and ones to make teen numbers on Wednesday. She wants to know if you can make teen numbers with 10p and 1p coins instead of bricks. Can you?














Try making 14p then 15p, 16p, 17p, 18p, 19p with your 10p and 1p coins. 




How did you make 14p? Draw the 10p and 1p coins in your Journal and write the number sentence. 









How did you make 17p? Draw the 10p and 1p coins in your Journal and write the number sentence.






Complete page 9 of your maths booklet 'Teen numbers using money'.



Log onto Numbots and practice your mental maths.


Maths Year 2  
Get your maths booklet and Journal to mark your work from Friday. 

When I was trying to add the coins yesterday I couldn't decide which coin to start with. Should I choose the coin with the biggest number, the coin with the smallest number, or a different coin? Does it matter? What do you think? Tell me in your Journal what I should do. Send me a photo.

I want to buy a set of stickers for 48p. Can you find 2 different ways I could pay (without getting any change). Write the answers in your Journal.


Complete page 10 of your maths booklet 'Coin amounts'. 
 
Log onto TTRockstar and practice your times tables. The login details are in your Home School book if the link does not work.
 
Maths Super Challenge










Phonics/Spelling
  
Y1 & Y2 log onto Phonicsplay or https://new.phonicsplay.co.uk/
Y2 play any phase 6 game.
Y1 play any phase 5 game.


Y1 and Y2 log onto WordShark. Keep practicing the words I have set by clicking on the 'My Set Work' tab at the top of the screen. Practice spelling for 5 mins. 


Handwriting

Get your Punctuation and Grammar booklet and mark your work from yesterday.

Y1 Practice all your CAPITAL LETTERS by going over them on your laminated letter formation sheet using your white board pen. Remember that capital letters always start at the top and you don't go back over any lines that you have already made, you take your pen off instead.
 
Y2 complete the last page in your Handwriting booklet - Diagonal join to tall letters 2. You can finish any of the pattern sheets that you want. 


 

Reading  

Y1 & Y2 Read a few pages from your school book. Then quiet reading - you can carry on reading your school book, or choose a book you have at home or log onto PurpleMash and continue reading any Serial Mash book.


Favourite places to read. It can be fun to read to your brother or sister.




Topic
  

How are you getting on finding out about Easter?
I have set a 'Draw and Easter egg' activity on Purple Mash. So log onto PurpleMash and click on the '2Do' folder at the top. 


Other Things
What else are you doing at Home School?

More great ideas for the Wizard's dog food!


 







Keep sending me signs of spring!

Enjoying spring in the garden next to the new flowers and buds appearing.

What a cosy spot you have found!


Finding signs of spring up a tree!







 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
41  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time