Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Friday 12th June

14 Jun 2020

Good Morning
 
         Let's begin the day with some dancing in the rainforest!  Join GoNoodle to Roar!
Click the picture to start.

Well done everyone... you've made it to the end of the week!  Thank you for working so hard on your tasks.  After today's activities you will be able to enjoy the weekend. I hope that you have enjoyed the Rainforest Project activities this week.  I'm very impressed with all the fact finding, writing and beautiful artwork that you've done!

Here's a selection of some of the lovely work that has been sent in.  Thankyou for sharing.
                                
                             Ethan R - Beautiful collage work                    Ethan R - verbs and adverbs to describe rainforest animals
                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
 
       

                
Thomas L.  - Super research about the rainforest.  Thomas also located rainforests on the world map.                                                                                                                                                  

Did you know that chocolate grows on trees?
The beans grow on a tree called the Cacao Tree, which grows in rainforests.
Watch this clip to find out more: Click on the picture to start: 

     
Today, we are going to be doing some chocolate themed activities.                                                                          

Cacao Tree                Fruit of the Cacao Tree

 Maths:

Friday Fractions:
Watch these videos and complete the activities ‘What are fractions? and ‘How to write fractions’  
https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/z3rbg82/articles/zq2yfrd

Chocolate fractions:
You can use either a real chocolate bar or a drawing of one.
Think about how it could be split into half, quarters and thirds.
Investigate the different ways that you could halve the chocolate. Does ½ always look the same?
Click to open larger picture or print:   -chocolate bar.docx-  


Then, have a go at this task:

  To open or print:  -chocolate fractions.docx-  

 
                                                                                                            


                                                            
 
Reading

Please remember to read a book for at least twenty minutes each day.
Year 2 - Remember to do an AR quiz when you have finished your book:  https://ukhosted79.renlearn.co.uk/6706937

Michael Rosen is an author.  He is famous for writing funny stories and poems.  ​Listen to his funny poem called 'Chocolate Cake'
Click here to  listen:
  

Next, look through a cookery book or online for a recipe that uses chocolate.
Use your reading skills to find which ingredients are needed and follow the instructions about what needs to be done.

Handwriting:

Using your best handwriting, make a list of the ingredients that you need.
Then, copy the instructions for the  chocolate recipe that you have chosen.

Cooking:
Maybe you could do some cooking involving chocolate?
Work with an adult to follow the recipe to make the chocolate dish.
Use your measuring skills to make sure you put the right amounts of everything in your cooking.
Enjoy!                                                                                                           


Phonics/Spelling:

Write the words from your spelling list onto your spelling log.
 (If you haven't printed a spelling log, you can write the words on to a page of your book)

How many different words can you create using the letters from the word CHOCOLATE?
Can you see the word LATE at the end?  See how many more you can find!

Be kind and help others
Don’t forget to try to do something to help someone else each day! There are lots of things that you could do to be helpful.  Have a think about what you could do to help someone. 
Make sure that you help with the washing up after your chocolate baking activity!



 
P.E:

You started the day with  GoNoodle's 'Roar' activity.  You might feel like doing some more exercise later, especially if you have been eating  chocolate!
Click on the link below to choose from the selection of activities.  You could do a morning routine with Joe Wicks, find a fun activity on GoNoodle or try something new like yoga:  https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/

You might like to do one of these activities, or maybe go for a walk, run or do some cycling. 

                                                                                                                                                                           

Learning Tasks for the Rainforest Project:


Antonia has shared some activities that she found on iplayer.  Maybe you would like to have a look, too!   
Go Jetters - Amazon Rainforest:   
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b07ff060/go-jetters-series-1-19-amazon-rainforest-south-america
Andy's Wild Workouts:    https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p06tmrxr/andys-wild-workouts-series-1-6-rainforests
Thankyou Antonia!

Mindfulness colouring
If you enjoy colouring, here are some lovely pictures of the rainforest for you to colour, or to copy from your computer screen.
 
 Click on this link to see the parrot and lots of other animals
                                                    -t-tp-6957-rainforest-mindfulness-colouring-pages_ver_1.pdf-  

● Where in the World are the Rainforests?
Using an atlas or online map, can you locate the continents (Africa, Asia, Australia, Central America and South America) where rainforests can be found?

 Click here to open the map or to print a copy  -rainforest map.pdf-  
 
 
● Sketch a Spider Monkey or a Tree Frog
Can you create a detailed sketch of an animal that inhabits the rainforest? Use  pencils, crayons,  paint or any drawing tool you prefer.
Copy an image of a rainforest animal, thinking carefully about the patterns and tones. 
Here are some pictures for you to look at and there are lots more if you search 'Images of rainforest animals' on the internet.
 
            
 

● Fascinating Forest Floor- Can you create a model replica of the forest floor?
Collect materials from the garden or if you go out for a walk.
What does the rainforest floor look like?   Which animals and insects might be there?

 
           
   
                       
 

 
● The Sounds of the Rainforests- 
There are many wonderful and intriguing sounds that can be heard in the rainforest.

Watch this BBC Our Planet clip. https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p011mwwt

You can watch real footage from a rainforest here. 
 https://askabiologist.asu.edu/sites/default/files/virtual-reality/rainforest-biome-VR-360/index.html
You can zoom in to look closely and control the camera to move around the page to look at different things.

Which animal makes the most noise in the rainforest?
Can you predict which animals the sounds have come from.
Can you copy these sounds using objects from around the home?
 

Rainforest Insects
●   Have a look at this video  about Rainforests: https://safeyoutube.net/w/myH6.

● There are lots of insects/mini-beasts in the rain forest.
You can see some pictures of them here: http://thinkjungle.com/rainforest-life/rainforest-insects/.
 
Rhinoceros beetle                                   Heliconius Butterflies                Amazon Caterpillar
         
 
 
● Look for mini-beasts living in the garden or on a walk. What are these mini beasts called? Which one do you like the best and why?
● Try drawing pictures of the mini-beasts you find.

Trees and paper
Many trees in the rainforest are chopped down to use for paper.  Can you create a poster about saving and reusing paper at home?
 
 
● Take a look at the The Rainforest Alliance website https://www.rainforest-alliance.org/kids 
Iis packed full of information, resources and games which may support some of the above activities. 
There are stories, as well as an interactive tree house and a Jewels of the Earth game
Click on the pictures to get to the games:
                                                                     
                   
  Interactive Treehouse                          Jewels of the Earth game. Find which creatures live in different parts of the rainforest.

Have a lovely weekend everyone!  I'll be back with you on Monday
Mrs Micklefield
 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
13  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time