Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Thursday 25th June

24 Jun 2020

24 Jun 2020
 
Good Morning Everyone!   
 

                                                    Let's start the day with a film about the moon called
                                                   
  'La Luna'  which means 'The Moon' 

         
 
  
                 
                                                                                
Click the picture to start

    
          
                                      I hope you enjoy watching this lovely film without words.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Our Space Project is zooming!  Thankyou for all the brilliant  work and pictures that you've been sending to me.  
Here are today's activities.  You can do them in any order and you don't have to do them all if you don't have enough time, but please work hard on the activities that you choose to do.



Writing: La Luna
After you have watched the film, write a diary entry about the star crashing into the moon.  Describe what happened, as if you had been there watching.    Here is a possible sentence starter, but you can use your own starter, if you prefer:   
Diary Entry - Thursday 25th June -
'I couldn't believe my eyes, as I looked up into the dark sky.....'   
Think about what you saw and heard.  Try to use some interesting adjectives and powerful verbs to describe what happened. You could draw a picture to show what happened too.


 

 Collective Worship            
Today, we're going to join Mrs Hebblewhite to think about Thankfulness.  To join in, please go to the Class 1 Page and look for the Collective Worship title and picture. 


 Reading:


I hope that you are still  enjoying reading space stories and information books from your bookshelf at home. 
Try to spend at least twenty minutes reading. This can be reading a book aloud or sharing a book with an adult. 


Handwriting 

Y1 Handwriting
Complete the handwriting patterns on the second page of Handwriting 3. Are you remembering to hold your pencil correctly?

Y2 Handwriting
Today we are going to use the letter f in some words. Watch the video below to find out




Practice the words ‘fin’ and ‘fun’ on the page headed ‘Joining to curly f’ in Handwriting 6.

                                                                                                                                                                                          
Phonics and Spelling:
Spelling Test 
Ask an adult to test you on the words from last weeks lists:
 -Y1 y sounds like ee.doc-     -Y2 18.6.20 time words.doc-    
 

New Spellings
-Look at the new spelling lists and write the words into your spelling log.
-Please have a look at the Powerpoint information about your spellings.
-Practise your handwriting skills.  Open the document to see the handwriting joins for each of your words. 
You can print the page or look at the words on your screen then copy them.
-Have a go at your spelling activity

-Please have a look at the Powerpoint information about your spellings.

Please click on the links to open the documents: 

Year 1:  
Spelling List -  ph sounds like 'f' and wh sounds like 'w'
  -ph and wh.doc-  
Powerpoint presentation (open into slideshow)   -Y1 slides about ph and wh.ppt-  
Spelling activity-                  -Activity Sheet Code Word Jumble Puzzle.pdf-       
(The answers are at the end, so you can check when you have finished)
Handwriting practise: 
Right-handed writers         
 -Y1 ph and wh handwriting RH.pdf-  
Left-handed writers         
   -ph and wh handwriting LH.pdf-  

                                                                                 
Y2 - Common Exception Words

We have now completed our weekly spelling lists, so now let's focus on learning the spellings of some more common exception words. Have a look at your common exception word list.  
-Year 2 common exception words.pdf- 

Ask an adult to check which words you can read, and then which ones you can spell.   
Choose ten of the words that you need to learn to spell.  These will be the words for your spelling test for this week, on Thursday. 

Here's a blank spelling log for you to practise writing the words you've chosen.   
  -Blank spelling log-V299161316.doc-  
 


Maths
Thursday- Measuring 

-Play this game to practise measuring things with a ruler  Click on the picture to start

 

-Look outside, in your garden or on your walk, can you find things that are taller than you and things that are shorter than you?  
 
-
 Also, please practise your mental recall skills by spending 10 minutes on Sumdog or Numbots

Maths Challenges:  
Also, for those of you who would like to do a maths challenge.  Have a go at these questions!
 
 


Here are yesterday's answers: 

    


 P.E:

 o
Have you decided what kind of exercise you would like to do today?   
You might like to do one of the activities below, or maybe go for a walk, run or do some cycling. You could do an exercise routine with Joe Wicks, find a fun activity on GoNoodle or try something new like yoga:  https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/

Mrs Goss has also put some new 
Forest School activities on the News Page, that you might like to try.
 
  

Be kind and help others
Have you done anything to help someone else today?  Try to do a kind act for someone else. It might be to help with something or it might be to do something to cheer up another person.  A friendly wave and smile through the window can mean a lot to someone who is lonely.


                                                                                         
 
The Learning Project this week is Space.  You might find out about 
our Solar System, the Sun and the Moon.  You could look at life in outer space from the view of an astronaut and travelling through space.  Enjoy your journey through Space!

 Rocket Creation-      
As part of one of your writing tasks, you have been asked to design a rocket.
Can you create your rocket using objects you can find in the home such as cardboard boxes, newspapers and tin foil.
Can you write a set of instructions about how to make the model,  to share with a family member or friend?


Drawing and Colouring Pictures-
You might like to create a space themed picture, using collage, paints, pens or pencils.

 If you like colouring in pictures, here are some for you to print:    -t-t-26681-space-themed-mindfulness-colouring-pages-_ver_2.pdf-  

    

 
 
 
Our Solar System-
Think about what you already know about space and create a mind map. Draw pictures and diagrams or write notes on a piece of paper to remind yourself about what you already know.
 
Can you name the planets in our solar system?
Use the Solar System Song  (click )  to create a diagram showing the order of the planets.
Also, here's another song to help you to learn facts about the planets: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2prtmPEjOc

You could make model planets using balloons and paper mache.

Astronaut Aerobics-   
Astronauts have to be fit and agile for their missions into space.
Can you design a home workout and put your agility to the test!
You could even use this (click) video to help.
You could then plan a day of healthy eating for the aspiring astronauts, thinking carefully about each food group.

What are Day and Night?-  Watch the video of day and night. (click) 
Then create a poster about day and night explaining why we have day and night.
Play the quiz and see how many answers you can get right!
 
 
 Is There Anything out There? 

Tim Peake
 is a famous British astronaut. (click on his name for more information)
Write the questions that you would ask him if you could interview him.
Pretend to be Tim Peake and ask an adult to read out the questions that you wrote down.
Can you answer the questions in your role as him?
 
Design a space suit
Can you design a new space suit for Tim Peake? What would make a good space suit?  
 
Mission X – Astro Food
  • Collect a variety of plant foods from home or download the cards from this (click)resource.
  • Group the food/cards e.g. fruits, seeds, vegetables. Which parts are edible?
Sign up and access all of the Mission X resources here.(click)
 
  • Further activities at Nasa for Kids.(click)  There are lots of games and some amazing pictures to look at in the Gallery section.
Work hard, be kind and have a fun day. I will be back with you tomorrow!
Mrs Micklefield


A note for Parents, 
If you have any queries or problems, or anything you need help with, please feel free to contact me:
class2@gfschools.co.uk If the children have any photographs, pictures or work that they are particularly proud of, please forward them to me and I will post some of them on the website.
I hope you are all well. 
Thankyou,
 
 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
9  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time