Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June

29 Jun 2020

 
         16 Best Travel Meme images | Travel meme, Travel, Bones funny                                                                                            
                              
                                                      Good Morning Travellers!   How are your journeys going?!

                                                     Let's begin today with a short clip about different vehicles from the past.  
                                                                      Click on the Galley to begin:
                                           
                                                       
The Travel Project learning has got off to an excellent start.  We had people travelling all over the place, yesterday!
...in Ferraris, Rolls Royce cars, tractors, rockets and even a flying saucer! I've already had some amazing work sent in.
I hope you have more fun on your travels today.

Here are today's activities.  You can do them in any order and you don't have to do them all if you don't have enough time, but please work hard on the activities that you choose to do.



 
Today, Mrs Hebblewhite is doing 
Collective Worship
P
lease join in by going to the Class 1 page or the School News Page.


 P.E:

Maybe you would like to 'wake up and shake up' with some exercise or perhaps later in the day.  Choose a time when you will do some exercise today. Have you decided what you're going to do?  Maybe more than one thing.  You might like to do one of the activities below, or maybe go for a walk, run or do some cycling. 
 You could do an exercise routine with Joe Wicks, find a fun activity on GoNoodle or try something new like yoga:  https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/

 


Reading:


I hope that you are enjoying reading  stories and information books about vehicles and transport, from your bookshelf at home.
Try to spend at least twenty minutes reading. This can be reading a book aloud or sharing a book with an adult. 


Your task today, is to use your reading skills to find information to use in the writing activity, below:                                                                                                                                                                                                    
Writing:
 
Information Writing
Choose a vehicle that you are interested in. 
Today, I would like you to create a fact file about the vehicle.  
Find out what the vehicle was like in the past and then write information about what it is like now.
You might also find information about future plans for the vehicle.


There is some information in the this week's Travel Learning Project (below).  
You might also have books to find facts, or you could search on the internet.  

Remember to include 'for children' in your search:
eg.  'Information for children about boats'   or 'Information for children about trains'  
Hopefully, the search will then give you some information that isn't too difficult to read and understand.

 
Grammar:  
Can you list adjectives to describe ten  vehicles from the past or the present time?
Try to use alliteration e.g. charging chariot, valuable van.   

Phonics and Spelling:
Please write your spelling words into the spelling log
Year 1 - Words with the spelling 'wh' and 'ph'
Year 2 – Common excedption words
Please write 3 sentences, each with at least one of the words from your spelling list.
 
Handwriting:
Y1 Handwriting 
What do you need to remember when writing the letter ‘p’? 
 




Practice writing the words ‘dip’, ‘dim’ and ‘tip’ on the page headed ‘Diagonal join practice’ in Handwriting 3. 
 
Y2 Handwriting 
What happens when we finish a letter at the top? 




 
Complete the first 3 lines of the page headed ‘Top join to short letters 1’ in Handwriting 6. 
 

Maths:
Measuring Weight                                                                                                                                           

Year 1 and Year 2
Choose one of your books, then find 3 items which are heavier than the book and 3 items which are lighter than the book. 
Then weigh the objects and the book to see if you were right.  Write down your the weight of each object.

Year 1
Please practise your mental recall skills by workign on Sumdog or Numbots

Year 2
MyMaths:
Log into MyMaths to complete the lesson and homework task about tally charts

Maths Challenges:  
Also, for those of you who would like to do a maths challenge.  Have a go at these questions!  


 
 
Answers for yesterday's challenge - check to see if you got them right!

 
 

Be kind and help others
Have you done anything to help someone else today?  Try to do a kind act for someone else. It might be to help with something or it might be to do something to cheer up another person.  A friendly wave and smile through the window can mean a lot to someone who is lonely.

Transport Learning Project
This week you will be learning more about transport.  You might find out  about different typs of transport, transport in the past or the science behind transport.  You could also learn about road safety and how to be safe around water. 


      
         
        
                                    

 
Wacky Wheels- Can you investigate bicycles from the past to the present?                                                                                   
  
How have they changed? 
Make a timeline of drawings of bikes through time
Have a look at the powerpoint slides below, to see lots of pictures and information about bicycles from the past.
The powerpoint might go into your downloads file.  Open the powerpoint into ‘slideshow’ so that you see everything.
 

  -t-he-052-the-history-of-the-bike-powerpoint_ver_1.ppt-  

Can you create a design for a bike in the future?
 
 

 
   Transport Through Time!-  
Look through these slides to find out what changes have taken place. 
Make sure you open the powerpoint into ‘slideshow’ so that you see everything.
  -How Has Transport Changed.ppt-  
   
  -History of transport-V299545752.pptx-  
 
 Pictures showing the first cars  -History of the car.pdf-  
 Pictures showing early space travel  -History of space travel.pptx-  
Activities that you might like to do:
Create a timeline of transport from the past to the present.
Find out about the first aeroplanes. Who was the first person to fly in one?
Find out about the first trains?  Who invented the first train?
 You could make a poster or fact file. 

Create a booklet about different forms of transport. You can choose which form of transport to write about:
You might want to do some more fact finding about rockets?
How about sports cars and racing cars?
Maybe, you are interested in sea travel – ships, submarine, boats, yachts? Perhaps trains or tractors?

Transport around the world Do all countries have the same types of transport? Investigate different forms of travel across the world.  Here’s a slide show for you to start your fact finding:

  -around the world.ppt-  
Maybe you could make a poster or a report about the transport used in a different country.

Moving Models-
Find some junk modelling around the house and a make a model car that moves.
If you prefer, you could make a model car from lego or a different construction kit.
Test it out in the garden or during your daily walk.
Does the car move faster or slower on a ramp? Why/why not?

 
Float your Boat!


Using a variety of materials to make boats out of junk e.g. wood, plastic , paper,  polystyrene etc.
Make a prediction about whether or not they will float and then test them to see which floats the longest. Can you write a report about which boat floated for the longest and why?
 
Brilliant Boats
  • Use tinfoil to create a simple boat design.
  • Try testing it by seeing how many coins it will hold.
  • What shape makes the best boat?
  • Don’t forget to recycle the tinfoil after using it!
Work hard, be kind and have a fun day. I will be back with you tomorrow!
Mrs Micklefield


A note for Parents, 
If you have any queries or problems, or anything you need help with, please feel free to contact me:
class2@gfschools.co.uk If the children have any photographs, pictures or work that they are particularly proud of, please forward them to me and I will post some of them on the website later in the week.
I hope you are all well. 
Thankyou,
Mrs Micklefield

 




 
 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
20  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time