Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Friday 5th June

04 Jun 2020

                               

                                                                     GIF | Gfycat   

 
                                                                              Good Morning! 

Well done everyone... you've made it to the end of the week!  Thank you for working so hard on your tasks.  After today's activities you will be able to enjoy the weekend. I hope that you have enjoyed the Sports Project this week.  I'm very impressed with all the different exercise activities that you do.  All this exercise will keep you very fit!

For those of you who are in school today, I hope that you have lots of fun with Mrs Higginbotham!

Before we begin our tasks today, let's take a look at some of the activities that have been shared this week.
 
Thankyou for sharing  your lovely writing, Thomas and Ethan:
 
Thomas enjoyed going surfing 
and  also wrote about 'The Catch' story:                                         Ethan's favourite sport is horse riding
        


Ethan shared pictures of his obstacle course, along with the timings to complete the course.  Even the dog joined in!
                                                 
 

If you would like to share any  pictures next week, please send them to me at class2@gfschool.co.uk                                                                                                                                                  

.
P.E:

Wake up and shake up! Start the day with some PE, or maybe have a PE session later in the day.
Click on the link below to choose from the selection of activities.  You could do a morning routine with Joe Wicks, find a fun activity on GoNoodle or try something new like yoga:  https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/

You might like to do one of these activities, or maybe go for a walk, run or do some cycling.   

                                                                                                                                                                                 
Reading

Try to read a variety of books at home each day.  Aim to spend at least twenty minutes reading. This can be reading a 
book aloud or sharing a book with an adult. It might be a book from your bookshelf, a book from school or an online text.  

Your reading activity today is to find a healthy recipe.  We know that sport is one of the ways in which we can keep our body physically fit.  We also know that making sensible eating choices is also important to keep us healthy.
Can you look in a recipe book and find a  recipe that has healthy ingredients and you think you would enjoy eating?
If you prefer, you could find some recipes online: 
https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/collection/snacks-kids

If you have the ingredients at home, why not ask an adult if you can follow the recipe and make the food? 


 Maths:                                                                                                                                                                                         

Today we are going to practise our mental recall facts.  The game is a fishing game: 
 

 
https://mathsframe.co.uk/en/resources/resource/306/Maths-Fishing-Multiplication    
Year 1: Please select level 1 to practise doubling numbers.
             You could challenge yourself with some multiplication facts on   level 2 if you're feeling confident!

​Year 2: Please select Level  2, then challenge yourself with levels 3,4, and 5 to practise recalling multiplication facts.


Maths Challenge:

Have a go at this NRICH activity to practise your understanding of positional language.
https://nrich.maths.org/234/index

                                                                                                                             
                                                                                                                              
Phonics/Spelling:



Today, we're going to practise adding 's' or 'es' when we change nouns from singular to plural:
https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/member-only/SimplePluralRules.html  - a game about adding 's and 'es'

Year 2;  Please also challenge yourself with this game, which includes other ways of making plurals.  
 https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/member-only/PondLifePlurals.html

Then, write the words from your spelling list onto your spelling log and practise reading and writing them. Can you create three sentences, each with one, or more of the words from your list?
(If you haven't printed a spelling log, then you can write the words on to a page of your book)

 

Writing: 

Design a gold medal and present it to somebody who you think deserves it.  Why have you chosen this person? What have they done to deserve the medal?
(It doesn’t have to be for a sporting activity – just award it for something they have done that they should be proud of.)
Write three sentences and include the word ‘and’, ‘because’ and ‘if '.


Exercise Diary
Hopefully, you now have lots of activities listed in your exercise diary.
Write all the activities you do today, under the heading ‘Thursday'.


Be kind and help others

Don’t forget to try to do something to help someone else each day! There are lots of things that you could do to be helpful.  I hope you tried hard to be helpful during the holidays!  Have a think about what you could do to help someone!  

The Learning Project for this week: Sport
These activities are to work on throughout the week.  Choose the tasks that interest you.

● Obstacle Course Fun-
Your task is to design and make your own obstacle course outside. Draw and label the design first and include all the equipment you will need. Then use your design to create the obstacle course. Ask your family to complete the obstacle course whilst you time them. You could even make medals from tin foil or any other suitable material and present them to the winner during a winner’s ceremony

 
 
● Make a Family Mascot
You could make your own family mascot using materials from around the house.
First, visit the Olympic Mascot Official list and look at past mascots. Click on the British mascot to find out more ---> 
 What makes a good mascot? What qualities does the mascot represent?
 
● Remarkable Routines
Can you create a simple routine, just like a gymnast, dancer or synchronised swimmer? Start by watching a video of a routine together, here are some suggestions:
men’s gymnastic routine  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNIuIuv4eE0
ladies’ gymnastic routine:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_MaUTcJIc0
Then, choose a piece of music to practise your routine to.
When you are confident, you could ask someone to film your sequence.
Watch the performance together- what do you think went well? What could be even better?
 
● Terrific Team Kits
Can you design your very own team kit?
Think about the flag of the country that you would represent and how to incorporate the flag colours into the design. You could draw the design with a pencil or maybe use a computer program to do this.

● Research about the Olympic games.
What are the Olympic games?  When did they start? How often do they take place?   
 
 
● Can you Invent a New Olympic Game?
Challenge you invent your own game for the 2021 Olympics?
Look at a list of all of the sports that already compete in the summer Olympics: Click here --->      
Can you write a set of instructions for the new game or draw illustrations?  
Why not test the game out as a family?
 
Brilliant Bodies
● What can your body do? Balance on one leg? Touch your nose with your tongue?
Look at the body challenge cards and see how many you can do.
 
 Click here to see the challenge cards  ---->
 Ask your family to join in.  You could make your own body challenge cards.
 
Additional learning resources parents may wish to engage with
● The NHS Change 4 Life website has some great games and activities, specifically ones for staying indoors.
Click --->
 
Outdoor Activities:
Here are some lovely ideas about activities to enjoy when you are outside.
The Woodland Trust: https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2019/07/9-outdoor-activities-for-kids-this-summer/


Work hard, be kind and have a lovely weekend. 
I'll be back with you on Monday.

Mrs Micklefield

 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
11  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time