Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Monday 6th July

05 Jul 2020

Happy Monday Everyone!  It's great to be back with you all.  

.....Something a little bit different for this week!

               
  
Our school is having a whole school Enrichment Week about Mindfulness.  


This week, the focus is on YOU!   We're going to be thinking about how special you are!


Mindfulness means.......  slowing down to really notice what you're doing.
Being mindful is the opposite of rushing or multi-tasking. When you are mindful, you are taking your time.

We're going to take some time to think about our feelings.  We will have time to think about any worries we might have, as well as being thankful for all the great things that we are able to 
celebrate.

So this week, instead of the usual  daily tasks, we will spend time thinking about Mindfulness.
Our Learning Project, throughout the week, will be about celebrations. 
You don't have to do all the tasks and you can do them in any order.
 
 Collective Worship
Today, I will be doing the Collective Worship.  We will be thinking about being 'Joy' this week in Collective Worship. 
We're going to take some time to notice all the wonderful things in the world around us and all the joy those things give to us. 
To join in, please look for Collective Worship to the left of this page or go to the new articles page and look for the 'Joy' symbol.



Here's a story to begin our week about mindfulness:
The story is called 'I am Peace'

 Click on the picture to start.  
How does practising yoga help the girl in the story?
How can you be a peacekeeper?  Maybe you could make a poster to show some of your ideas?



Now, let's do some  of our own exercises to help us focus on our Mindfulness. 
You might also want to do some more exercise later in the day. Maybe a walk, run or a game of football? 
Exercise is a great way of helping us to feel good!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O29e4rRMrV4

Explore your emotions:

Over the next few days, we're going to think about our emotions: Being happy, angry, worried, proud of ourselves.
Today, let's begin by thinking about the times when we are happy. 
   

You can create your own poster about 'I am Happy When....' or print using this link:                                                                     -mindfulness focused worksheets.pdf-  (Adults - this will give 4 pages - 1 for today's activity and 3 others for the next few days)
 
Diary
Sometimes people focus on things that are not going well and forget that there are lots of good things!  
It's important to think about the good things that have happened each day. 
Can you complete a Positive Thinking Diary for a week?  At the end of each day, think back and focus on something that went well.
 
-Positive thinking diary.pdf-  


Let's Go Outdoors!

With an adult, explore outside and focus on all the wonderful things there are! 
Sometimes, we walk past all these wonderful things, without taking any notice of them. 

Look closely and see what you can find.      
 
Summer scavenger hunt:
Look in the garden or head to the woods  and look out for...
  • brightly coloured wild flowers
  • fluffy dandelion clocks
  • nibbled leaves
  • a soft feather
  • spotty ladybirds
You could take a magnifying glass on your scavenger hunt to look closely at some of the things you find. 
Look for patterns on leaves, flowers, spiders webs.  

Tiny treasure hunt:   

You’ll need to keep your eyes peeled for this activity. Hunt for really small things you can fit into a small box.
Collect little leaves, blades of grass, small snail shells, tiny twigs, feathers and pebbles.
You could have a competition with your family – who can fit the most items inside their box?


Take a photograph or draw some of the things that you find.


Mindfulness drawing:
Mindfulness drawings are a lovely way to relax and be thoughtful.  You also get a beautiful picture at the end!
Here are some mindfulness pictures that you might like to colour, throughout the week.
-mindfulness colouring detailed.pdf- 


 
The Learning Project this week is about celebrations. These tasks are for you to work on throughout the week.  Choose some of the activities that interest you.  You might learn about different types of celebrations that take place and who may celebrate them. You might look at how people celebrate different events in other parts of the world. How about planning a celebration?!

                                                                                                                                                                                          

Please click on the coloured words below to open links to videos.

Let’s Celebrate- 
Listen to the song ‘Celebration’:
Can you add actions to the dance? Could you have a concert and perform to your family and friends? Record the performance and watch it back - what could be even better about the performance? 

Create a Celebration Reading Den.
What could you have in there? Maybe balloons or bunting? Can you find any books about celebrations to enjoy in the new reading den? You might like have some things to read about Mindfulness and celebrations.

Months and Family Celebrations:             
Can you name the months in order?
On a calendar, write down when different family members birthdays are or when special events are happening in your family. Which month/months has the most/least birthdays/events?
Here’s a blank calendar for you to use if you like:     -2020-blank-monthly-calendar-01.doc-  


Make a bar chart or pictogram to show how many birthdays there are in your family for each of the months.  
Celebrations Around the World 
Happy New Year Celebration GIF by Faith Holland
Watch this video about celebrations.
Lots of celebrations happen all through the year all around the world.
Make a list of the months of the year.
Can you make a list of celebrations from around the world?
Which months are they celebrated in?  You could add them to the calendar.
  • Draw a picture of the celebrations that you find out about and label them.
  • Make a list of any of the events that you celebrate with your family. 
  • Which do you enjoy the most?
  • You could also match the celebration to the season e.g.                
Autumn: Diwali, Bonfire Night, Harvest Festival, Hanukkah
Winter: Christmas, New YearSpring: Holi, Easter, Mother’s Day
Summer: Father’s Day, Eid, Vesak

Create a celebration book.  This could be about one celebration or lots of celebrations  

Write a diary entry: 
Write about a celebration that you have taken part in. You might describe your birthday, Christmas or maybe a wedding that you went to.
 
Crafty Card Making

Create a celebration card for a family member. This could be for a birthday, a religious celebration or just for being them!
What will you put on the front? Can you use different materials to design your celebration card?
You could practice your handwriting skills and neatly write the address on the envelope, ready to be posted.
 Maybe you could create a pop-up card?
 
Party Preparation
Would you like to become a party planner?
You could plan a party for a person of your choice.
Write a guest list for the party, design an invitation and make a list of things that you will need (e.g. banners and balloons). You could even choose songs to play and write a shopping list for the buffet.
 
Design a celebration menu:
 Write a menu for a special celebration. It could be Christmas dinner or a Diwali feast?
Don’t forget to include a dessert and drinks.
What could the menu look like? Decorate it with pictures that match the celebration.

Bake a cake: Ask an adult to help you to bake a cake. Plan the cake that you would like to make and add the ingredients to a shopping list.
Write the instructions in your best handwriting and draw a picture of what you like the cake to look like.
When you have the ingredients, start to make the cake.
Weigh out the ingredients and bake a cake for a celebration.
 

Celebrate the seasons of the year
Everyday, as we look around us, there are wonderful things in the world to celebrate.
Each season, we celebrate the wonderful changes that happen in nature:
Watch this video and this video about seasons.

Create a mini book all about the four seasons.

Perhaps you could also make a craft project to represent each season.
You could collect some materials to create a Seasons Calendar.
Think about the design and what you will need.
 
Celebrate Summer with some Music and Singing

Visit this BBC website for sea themed music and learning ideas. 

There are some games and ideas, about being at the seaside, from the Royal National Lifeboat Institution here.  
 
I hope that you enjoy the Mindfulness and Celebrations activities this week.
Take care, have fun and I'll be back with you tomorrow!
Mrs Micklefield



A note for Parents, 
If you have any queries or problems, or anything you need help with, please feel free to contact me:
class2@gfschools.co.uk If the children have any photographs, pictures or work that they are particularly proud of, please forward them to me and I will post some of them on the website later in the week.
I hope you are all well. 
Thankyou,
Mrs Micklefield

 

Answers to Friday's challenge:
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
19  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time