Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Monday 29th June

28 Jun 2020

 Which vehicle would you like to travel in?!

      
         
        
                    

Happy Monday Everyone!  It's great to be back with you all.   
               
Over the past few weeks, we have been thinking about lots of  different places around the world, as well as in Space.
This week, we're going to be thinking about how we  can travel to those different places.  There are many different ways to get from one place to another.    
                                                                                            Mexico Flying GIF by Camdelafu - Find & Share on GIPHY

Our project this week is TRANSPORT....Which forms of transport are you interested in?  Space travel, aircrafts, sea travel or road transport? 
It's exciting to go to new places and travelling can be fun. 
                 
                                                        Let's join The Muppets on one of their road trips!
                                         Road Trip Kermit GIF - RoadTrip Kermit Driving GIFs
                                                                                 Click on the picture to start

So, The Muppets are having fun driving to go on holiday in their car.  Maybe this week, you would like to investigate cars?  You might like to continue with your research about Space travel.  Perhaps, you are interested in trains, ships, motorbikes or submarines?
This week, in the Learning Project activities, you might like to choose to investigate one or several of these forms of travel. 
You might like to think about modern day vehicles or find out what they were like in the past....the choice is yours!


For those of you who are in school today, I hope that you have a lovely day with Mrs Matthews and Mrs Acheson! 

Today, I will be doing the Collective Worshipso please join in by finding this picture on the The School New Articles page or look at the list at the left of this  Class 2 Page:

 


 

 


Reading:
L
Have a look on your bookshelves to see if you have any stories or information books about different types of transport. 

Try to spend at least twenty minutes reading. This can be reading a book aloud or sharing a book with an adult. 


Today's story is 'Whatever Next' by Jill Murphy
Baby Bear has dreams of travelling to faraway places!

  Click on the book to listen to the story                                             

Writing:

Today’s task is to write a story about a journey.  
Choose the vehicle that you will be travelling in and decide where you will be going
For the journey, pretend to be the driver of the vehicle.        
This could be an aircraft pilot, a boat captain, an astronaut, or a driver of your choice.
What is your vehicle like?  Where are you going? Who is with you?

Handwriting:
Y1 Handwriting 
Let’s practice the letter p and then us it in a word. Watch the video below. 




Find the page headed ‘Diagonal join practice’ in Handwriting 3 and complete the words ‘lip’, ‘an’, ‘am’, ‘in’ and ‘hi’ 
 
Y2 Handwriting 
Today we are going to use the letter f in some different words. Watch the video below to find out.  




Finish off the page headed ‘Joining to curly f’ in Handwriting 6. 


Phonics and Spelling:
Make an A-Z list of transport vehicles that you know. Think about transport from the past and the present. Don't worry if you can't find one for each letter, but organise the ones you do find, into alphabetical order.

Also, please write the spellings for this week into your spelling log. 

Maths:
Shape  

Year 1 and Year 2                                                                                                                                                                                  
Create a picture of  a vehicle of your choice, by drawing different 2D shapes to make it.
Label the names of the shapes you use.
Here's some ideas:

     

Also, for anyone who would like to do a maths challenge.  Have a go at these questions!  
 

 


   
 Answers for Friday's challenge:

 

    

Be kind and help others
Have you done anything to help someone else today?  Try to do a kind act for someone else. It might be to help with something or it might be to do something to cheer up another person.  A friendly wave and smile through the window can mean a lot to someone who is lonely.


 P.E:

Choose a time when you will do some exercise today. Have you decided what you're going to do?  Maybe more than one thing.  You might like to do one of the activities below, or maybe go for a walk, run or do some cycling. 
 You could do an exercise routine with Joe Wicks, find a fun activity on GoNoodle or try something new like yoga:  https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/

 
                                                                                              
Transport Learning Project
This week you will be learning more about transport.  You might find out  about different typs of transport, transport in the past or the science behind transport.  You could also learn about road safety and how to be safe around water. 
  Wacky Wheels- Can you investigate bicycles from the past to the present?
How have they changed? 
Make a timeline of drawings of bikes through time
Have a look at the powerpoint slides below, to see lots of pictures and information about bicycles from the past.
The powerpoint might go into your downloads file.  Open the powerpoint into ‘slideshow’ so that you see everything.
 

  -t-he-052-the-history-of-the-bike-powerpoint_ver_1.ppt-  

Can you create a design for a bike in the future?
 
 

 
   Transport Through Time!-  
Look through these slides to find out what changes have taken place. 
Make sure you open the powerpoint into ‘slideshow’ so that you see everything.
  -How Has Transport Changed.ppt-  
   
  -History of transport-V299545752.pptx-  
 
 Pictures showing the first cars  -History of the car.pdf-  
 Pictures showing early space travel  -History of space travel.pptx-  
Activities that you might like to do:
Create a timeline of transport from the past to the present.
Find out about the first aeroplanes. Who was the first person to fly in one?
Find out about the first trains?  Who invented the first train?
 You could make a poster or fact file. 

Create a booklet about different forms of transport. You can choose which form of transport to write about:
You might want to do some more fact finding about rockets?
How about sports cars and racing cars?
Maybe, you are interested in sea travel – ships, submarine, boats, yachts? Perhaps trains or tractors?

Transport around the world Do all countries have the same types of transport? Investigate different forms of travel across the world.  Here’s a slide show for you to start your fact finding:

  -around the world.ppt-  
Maybe you could make a poster or a report about the transport used in a different country.

Moving Models-
Find some junk modelling around the house and a make a model car that moves.
If you prefer, you could make a model car from lego or a different construction kit.
Test it out in the garden or during your daily walk.
Does the car move faster or slower on a ramp? Why/why not?

 
Float your Boat!


Using a variety of materials to make boats out of junk e.g. wood, plastic , paper,  polystyrene etc.
Make a prediction about whether or not they will float and then test them to see which floats the longest. Can you write a report about which boat floated for the longest and why?
 
Brilliant Boats
  • Use tinfoil to create a simple boat design.
  • Try testing it by seeing how many coins it will hold.
  • What shape makes the best boat?
  • Don’t forget to recycle the tinfoil after using it!
Work hard, be kind and have a fun day. I will be back with you tomorrow!
Mrs Micklefield


A note for Parents, 
If you have any queries or problems, or anything you need help with, please feel free to contact me:
class2@gfschools.co.uk If the children have any photographs, pictures or work that they are particularly proud of, please forward them to me and I will post some of them on the website later in the week.
I hope you are all well. 
Thankyou,
Mrs Micklefield

 




 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
9  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time