Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Thursday 18th June

17 Jun 2020

 Mexico Flying GIF by Camdelafu - Find & Share on GIPHY
                                                                         Good Morning Everyone! 
                                                           Let's start the day with some Zumba!

                                                  
                         
 Join children from all around the world for some South American dancing
                                                                   Click on the picture to start


You've all been busy with the 'Around the World' Project.  I'm impressed with all the super work that has been sent in.  Remember, you can do the tasks in any order and you don't have to do them all if you don't have time. 


Let's join Mrs Acheson for Collective Worship.
Look on the News Page for this picture, to join in.
                                                                     
Don't forget to send your friendship recipes, or your ideas for a friendship board game, to Mrs Acheson.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

Reading:
Have you read any books about places around the world this week?
Try to spend at least twenty minutes reading, each day. 


Share the story 'When I Coloured in the World'.  https://safeyoutube.net/w/Rxi6
Talk to an adult about the story. What would you change about the world? Perhaps you could draw a picture to show what the change would look like?
 
              
Phonics/Spelling and Writing Tasks:

Spelling Test 
Ask an adult to test you on the words from last weeks lists:
  Year 1 -Y1 adding er est.doc-  
      Year  2    -Year 2 Months of the Year-V298565396.doc-  
 

New Spellings
-Look at the new spelling lists and write the words into your spelling log.
-Please have a look at the Powerpoint information about your spellings.
-Practise your handwriting skills.  Open the document to see the handwriting joins for each of your words. 
You can print the page or look at the words on your screen then copy them.
-Have a go at your spelling activity

-Please have a look at the Powerpoint information about your spellings.

Please click on the links to open the documents: 

Year 1:  The 'y' ending that sounds like 'ee'                                                                                               
Spelling List -                        -Y1 y sounds like ee.doc-  

Powerpoint presentation about the ending 'y' sounds like 'ee' (open into slideshow)
 -Y1 PP slides ee spelt y.ppt-  
Spelling activity-                 -Y1 What Am I Activity Sheet.pdf-  
Wordsearch Activity -       
 -Y1 y sounds like ee Word Search.pdf-  
(The answers are at the end, so you can check when you have finished)
Handwriting practise: 
Right-handed writers         
-Y1 spelling and handwriting y endings RH.pdf- 
Left-handed writers         
  -Y1 spelling and handwriting y endings LH.pdf-  

                                                                                                                                                                                              
Year 2- Time words:

Spelling List -                     -Y2 18.6.20 time words.doc-  

Powerpoint  slides about Time words - -Year 2 PP slides Time words.ppt-  
Activity -                         
 -Y2 Time words Letter Tiles Spellings Activity Sheet.pdf-
Word Search                   -Y 2 Time words Word Search Black and White.pdf-  
(The answers are at the end, so you can check when you have finished)
Handwriting practise: 
Right-handed writers     
-Y2 Handwriting and spelling Time words RH.pdf-  
Left-handed writers       -Y2 Handwriting and Spelling Time words LH.pdf-  
                                                                                                                     

Maths:

Mental Recall Facts
Please spend some time on Sumdog, Numbots or TT Rockstars, to practise your mental recall facts.

All - Symmetry
Today, we are going to watch a clip to remind ourselves about symmetry:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/clips/ztpyr82

PurpleMash:  Log in to Purple Mash.  Find your 2Do activity, which is to create a symmetrical butterfly.

Symmetrical Flags:
Here are some flags from aound the world.  Which flags are symmetrical?  Think about whether they would be the same at both sides if you folded them in half. Can you find any flags that have a line of symmetry?                                                           

                                      
Make a list, or draw, some more symmetrical  flags from around the world. 
You could look in books or on the internet . https://www.worldometers.info/geography/flags-of-the-world/.
 

 P.E:
You began the day with some zumba.  Maybe you would like to do some more exercise later on?
Click on the link below to choose from the selection of activities. 
You could do a morning routine with Joe Wicks, find a fun activity on GoNoodle or try something new like yoga:  https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/

You might like to do one of these activities, or maybe go for a walk, run or do some cycling.


Be kind and help others

Don’t forget to try to do something to help someone else each day.  Maybe, you could send a message to someone far away, to let them know that you are thinking about them?
 
The Project for this week is called ‘All Around the World’  

You will be able to learn about countries and cities around the world and find out about different cultures and traditions, famous landmarks, food and clothing. Work on the project tasks throughout the week.  Choose the activities that interest you.   
  

Picture News
Take at look at the activity about money around the world.  You will find Picture News on the News and Events page.

Investigate Maps
Use an atlas or a map to locate countries that make up the UK.
Can you write the names of the countries in the UK?
Which seas surround the UK?
 
Look at a world map. 
Can you find and name the continents of the world?
Can you find and name some of the seas and oceans of the world?
 
● Flags- Take a look at flags from around the world https://www.worldometers.info/geography/flags-of-the-world/.
Which are your favourite flags? Why do you like them? Can you make your favourite flag? You could draw, paint, use collage or maybe use a computer drawing tool, such as 2Paint.
 
Can use find where your flag belongs on a map?
 
● Dance Around the World- Watch the following dances: Diwali Stick Dance, https://safeyoutube.net/w/HGi6
 Maypole Dancing https://safeyoutube.net/w/qHi6 and Spanish Flamenco Dancing https://safeyoutube.net/w/JHi6 .
Have a go at some of the moves used in these videos. You could ask an adult to record your dance, then you can see what you were doing well and what you could improve.
Can you create one of the costumes using items from your wardrobe? Perform the dance to a family member.
 
● Food Tasting Fun
Which fruit do you like?  Can you find out which country your favourite fruit comes from? 
 
Drawing:
If you have some fruit at home, ask an adult to cut one of the fruits open. Then have a go at sketching the inside of each fruit. Look closely at the patterns and shapes that you can see.
 
● Where in the World?
Have a discussion with an adult about your own family heritage.
Discuss your family traditions and where your family originates from.
This may be where you live now, or it could be somewhere completely different.
Can you create a poster or PowerPoint all about your family?
Can you include a map identifying the country that you are from? If this is different to where you live now, you could add both maps.
 
Speak the Language- There are lots of different ways to say hello around the world.
Learn how to say hello in Spanish, French, and Italian and some countries of your choice, using Google Translate. https://translate.google.co.uk/ Write ‘hello’ in the English box, then choose a country to find their ‘hello’ word.  You can click on the speaker button to hear the word.
Practise writing ‘hello’ using the colours of the flag for each country.
 
Famous Buildings Around the World
 
● The Bird’s Nest is the world’s largest steel structure and was built in China for the 2008 Olympic Games. It is made out of 26 miles of steel.
● Use strips of paper, card or wool to create your own bird nest style building. You might like to search for photos of the ‘Birds nest’ to help you with your design.
 
Here are some famous buildings in London:
          
The Shard                                       Big Ben                               The Gherkin
 
Can you find any other famous or interesting buildings around the world? 
This one is called The Leaning Tower of Pisa.

Can you find out which is the world’s tallest building?

Work hard, be kind and have a fun day. I will be back with you tomorrow!
Mrs Micklefield


A note for Parents, 
If you have any queries or problems, or anything you need help with, please feel free to contact me:
class2@gfschools.co.uk If the children have any photographs, pictures or work that they are particularly proud of, please forward them to me and I will post some of them on the website later in the week.
I hope you are all well.

 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
14  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time