Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June

01 Jun 2020

 

                             GIFs of Animals Playing Sports | Bleacher Report | Latest News ...   
                                      Anyone for surfing?! .... Do you like water sports?

Dear Parents,  
If you have any queries or problems, or anything you need help with, please feel free to contact me:

class2@gfschools.co.uk
If the children have any photographs, pictures or work that they are particularly proud of, please forward them to me and I will post some of them on the website later in the week.
Thankyou,
Mrs Micklefield

 
Good Morning Everyone!
I hope you are all well and ready for today's activities.  
I hope that you are enjoying the project activities about sport.  
I hear that many of you have been busy doing lots of exercise - well done! 
Remember, you can do the tasks in any order, and you don't have to do everything if you don't have time. yes 

For those of you who have returned to school today, I hope that you have a lovely day with Mrs Higginbotham!


Let's begin the day with some exercise.
You might like to do one of these activities, or maybe go for a walk, run or do some cycling.   

P.E:

Wake up and shake up! Start the day with some PE, or maybe have a PE session later in the day.
Click on the link below to choose from the selection of activities.  You could do a morning routine with Joe Wicks, find a fun activity on GoNoodle or try something new like yoga:  https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/


. Maths:                                                                                                                                 

Please log in to MyMaths to find today’s tasks. Click here to log in -->                                                                          
Year 1 - Please watch the  lesson first, then complete the task about comparing length.
Year 2 - Please watch the lesson first, then complete the task on patterns and sequences .

Then, here is an activity that you might like to do outside. Today, we are going to use positional language, such as:
forward, backwards, up, down, left and right
Work with an adult.  Ask the adult to place an object on the ground and use positional language to direct you to the object. Then, you could switch roles and you can give the directions. If you wanted to make it harder, you could use a blindfold but be extra careful!

                                                                                                                                                                                 
Reading: 
Try to read a variety of books at home each day.  Aim to spend at least twenty minutes reading. This can be reading a 
book aloud or sharing a book with an adult. It might be a book from your bookshelf, a book from school or an online text.  

Today’s activity is to listen to the Cbeebies story ‘Martin the Mouse’ https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio/story-time-martin-the-mouse 
Can you record the main events from this sporty story? 
You can draw the events, write sentences or retell the story by speaking it in your own words.
 
Phonics/Spelling:

Complete your spelling log for today and practise reading and writing the words on your list.

The word ‘sport’ contains the sound ‘or’. Can you make a list of words as you can containing the ‘or’ sound
You might identify words that contain an alternative spelling for ‘or’ such as:
oor - door
ore - sore
aw paw
au – Autumn 

 
 (Adults, please see:   -alternative spellings for or.pdf-   to print the aboveor open full screen size and to access the answers)


Writing: 


Have you got a favourite sportsperson?
This could be your P.E. teacher or a famous sports person
Write an information booklet about this person.
You could draw a picture of the person on the front.
Inside, create a fact file about the person and their sport. Why are they your favourite? 
 
Exercise Diary
Hopefully, you were able to list about some of the exercise activities that you did yesterday. 
Write all the activities you do today, under the heading 'Tuesday'.

Be kind and help others

Don’t forget to try to do something to help someone else each day! There are lots of things that you could do to be helpful.  I hope you tried hard to be helpful during the holidays!  Have a think about what you could do to help someone!  

The Learning Project for this week: Sport
These activities are to work on throughout the week.  Choose the tasks that interest you.

● Obstacle Course Fun-
Your task is to design and make your own obstacle course outside. Draw and label the design first and include all the equipment you will need. Then use your design to create the obstacle course. Ask your family to complete the obstacle course whilst you time them. You could even make medals from tin foil or any other suitable material and present them to the winner during a winner’s ceremony

 
 
● Make a Family Mascot
You could make your own family mascot using materials from around the house.
First, visit the Olympic Mascot Official list and look at past mascots. Click on the British mascot to find out more ---> 
 What makes a good mascot? What qualities does the mascot represent?
 
● Remarkable Routines
Can you create a simple routine, just like a gymnast, dancer or synchronised swimmer? Start by watching a video of a routine together, here are some suggestions:
men’s gymnastic routine  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNIuIuv4eE0
ladies’ gymnastic routine:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_MaUTcJIc0
Then, choose a piece of music to practise your routine to.
When you are confident, you could ask someone to film your sequence.
Watch the performance together- what do you think went well? What could be even better?
 
● Terrific Team Kits
Can you design your very own team kit?
Think about the flag of the country that you would represent and how to incorporate the flag colours into the design. You could draw the design with a pencil or maybe use a computer program to do this.

● Research about the Olympic games.
What are the Olympic games?  When did they start? How often do they take place?   
 
 
● Can you Invent a New Olympic Game?
Challenge you invent your own game for the 2021 Olympics?
Look at a list of all of the sports that already compete in the summer Olympics: Click here --->      
Can you write a set of instructions for the new game or draw illustrations?  
Why not test the game out as a family?
 
Brilliant Bodies
● What can your body do? Balance on one leg? Touch your nose with your tongue?
Look at the body challenge cards and see how many you can do.
 
 Click here to see the challenge cards  ---->
 Ask your family to join in.  You could make your own body challenge cards.
 
Additional learning resources parents may wish to engage with
● The NHS Change 4 Life website has some great games and activities, specifically ones for staying indoors.
Click --->
 
Outdoor Activities:
Here are some lovely ideas about activities to enjoy when you are outside.
The Woodland Trust: https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2019/07/9-outdoor-activities-for-kids-this-summer/

Work hard, be kind and have a fun day.
I will be back with you tomorrow!

Mrs Micklefield 
                       



                                               
                                               

 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
15  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time