Class 2 - - Friday 17th July
16 Jul 2020
Class 2- Thursday 16th July
15 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 15th July
14 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 14th July
13 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 13th July
12 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 13th July
11 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July

07 Jul 2020

Good Morning Everyone!
I hope you are all well and ready for today's mindfulness activities

      
                                            Robot Yoga GIF by cabuu

                                                                     
                                                             Are you feeling calm and relaxed this morning?!

You've all been busy thinking about mindfulness and  celebrations.  
Thankyou for sending your lovely pictures of all the things you've been doing.  It's great to see you enjoying the outdoor activities. 
Don't forget to try to read for at least 20 minutes each day.  Also, keep practising your mental recall skills in maths, using Numbots, Sumdog or any of the games we've been using recently. 
You don't have to do all the tasks and you can do them in any order.  Have fun!


 
 Collective Worship
Today, Mr Gamble will be doing Collective Worship. To join in, please go to the Class 3  page or the New Articles page. 

Exercise
Let's start the day with some yoga to help us to focus on our Mindfulness. 
You might also want to do some more exercise later in the day. Maybe a walk, run or a game of football? 
Exercise is a great way of helping us to feel good!


Have a go at the cosmic kids mindfulness yoga
 



Click on the picture to start


 
Explore your emotions:
Today we're thinking about the times when we worry about things.  We all worry sometimes and sometimes our worries get bigger and bigger if  we 'bottle them up'  and we don't tell anyone.  If we tell someone and share the worries, they can seem much smaller and even go away.  Let an adult or a friend know how you're feeling... it will make you feel better if you are worried about something.

Today's story is about feeling worried.

The story is called 'The Huge Bag of Worries'
 

 
Click on the picture to start.  
 
 
In this story, the little girl is so worried about things, that the worries feel like a big bag that she's dragging around.  The worries are making her feel troubled and unhappy, all the time.  No one seems to have time to listen to her so she can't let her worries out.    Eventually, the kind lady helped her to make the worries go away.  She stopped and listened, so the little girl could share her worries and then they started to go away. 
    

Let your worries fly away:
Here's another idea for trying to make worries go away:
If you're feeling worried, try to think about some really happy things, to help you to forget about your worries.  
Imagine that your worries are flying away on the wings of a butterfly.
You can draw your own 'Don't Worry, Be Happy!'  poster ....' or print using this link: 
 
-mindfulness focused worksheets.pdf-  (Adults - this will give 4 pages - Let It Go is activity 3))

 

 


 Click on the picture to start.
 
 

Diary
Complete  your Positive Thinking Diary for today.  Think back and focus on something that went well.
 
-Positive thinking diary.pdf-  

Ladybird potato stamps

Who doesn't love a cheerful ladybird?  You just need a potato, paints and paper.
Watch the video to see what to do then get creative. You can even experiment and make other creatures like bumblebees, woodlice or shield bugs.













 

Let's Go Outdoors!



 
 
 
 
Mindfulness Colouring
I've heard that you are all enjoying the mindfulness colouring!
Here are some more!  Jungle animals this time.

  -mindfulness colouring jungle animals.pdf-  


 

 Music

Mrs Watkinson has shared lots of music activities with us. 
To join in, follow this link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVKO51MFhGXH8XdK1bHLyOQ/videos   
or see the information on the  New Articles page



happy birthday good job GIF 
The Learning Project this week is about celebrations. These tasks are for you to work on throughout the week.  Choose some of the activities that interest you.  You might learn about different types of celebrations that take place and who may celebrate them. You might look at how people celebrate different events in other parts of the world. How about planning a celebration?!
                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Please click on the coloured words below to open links to videos.

Let’s Celebrate- 
Listen to the song ‘Celebration’:
Can you add actions to the dance? Could you have a concert and perform to your family and friends? Record the performance and watch it back - what could be even better about the performance? 
Create a Celebration Reading Den.
What could you have in there? Maybe balloons or bunting? Can you find any books about celebrations to enjoy in the new reading den? You might like have some things to read about Mindfulness and celebrations.

Months and Family Celebrations:             
Can you name the months in order?
On a calendar, write down when different family members birthdays are or when special events are happening in your family. Which month/months has the most/least birthdays/events?
Here’s a blank calendar for you to use if you like:     -2020-blank-monthly-calendar-01.doc-  


Make a bar chart or pictogram to show how many birthdays there are in your family for each of the months.  
Celebrations Around the World 
Happy New Year Celebration GIF by Faith Holland
Watch this video about celebrations.
Lots of celebrations happen all through the year all around the world.
Make a list of the months of the year.
Can you make a list of celebrations from around the world?
Which months are they celebrated in?  You could add them to the calendar.
  • Draw a picture of the celebrations that you find out about and label them.
  • Make a list of any of the events that you celebrate with your family. 
  • Which do you enjoy the most?
  • You could also match the celebration to the season e.g.                
Autumn: Diwali, Bonfire Night, Harvest Festival, Hanukkah
Winter: Christmas, New YearSpring: Holi, Easter, Mother’s Day
Summer: Father’s Day, Eid, Vesak

Create a celebration book.  This could be about one celebration or lots of celebrations  

Write a diary entry: 
Write about a celebration that you have taken part in. You might describe your birthday, Christmas or maybe a wedding that you went to.
 
Crafty Card Making
Create a celebration card for a family member. This could be for a birthday, a religious celebration or just for being them!
What will you put on the front? Can you use different materials to design your celebration card?
You could practice your handwriting skills and neatly write the address on the envelope, ready to be posted.
 Maybe you could create a pop-up card?
 
Party Preparation
Would you like to become a party planner?
You could plan a party for a person of your choice.
Write a guest list for the party, design an invitation and make a list of things that you will need (e.g. banners and balloons). You could even choose songs to play and write a shopping list for the buffet.
 
Design a celebration menu: Write a menu for a special celebration. It could be Christmas dinner or a Diwali feast?
Don’t forget to include a dessert and drinks.
What could the menu look like? Decorate it with pictures that match the celebration.

Bake a cake: Ask an adult to help you to bake a cake. Plan the cake that you would like to make and add the ingredients to a shopping list.
Write the instructions in your best handwriting and draw a picture of what you like the cake to look like.
When you have the ingredients, start to make the cake.
Weigh out the ingredients and bake a cake for a celebration.
 

Celebrate the seasons of the year
Everyday, as we look around us, there are wonderful things in the world to celebrate.
Each season, we celebrate the wonderful changes that happen in nature:
Watch this video and this video about seasons.

Create a mini book all about the four seasons.

Perhaps you could also make a craft project to represent each season.
You could collect some materials to create a Seasons Calendar.
Think about the design and what you will need.
 
Celebrate Summer with some Music and Singing

Visit this BBC website for sea themed music and learning ideas. 

There are some games and ideas, about being at the seaside, from the Royal National Lifeboat Institution here.  
 
I hope that you are enjoying the Mindfulness and Celebrations activities this week.
Take care, have fun and I'll be back with you tomorrow!
 Mrs Micklefield



A note for Parents, 
If you have any queries or problems, or anything you need help with, please feel free to contact me:
class2@gfschools.co.uk If the children have any photographs, pictures or work that they are particularly proud of, please forward them to me and I will post some of them on the website later in the week.
I hope you are all well. 
Thankyou,
Mrs Micklefield
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
20  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time