Class 2 - Friday 10th July
09 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 2- Tuesday 7th June
06 Jul 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Monday 6th July
05 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Transport Gallery
03 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Monday 29th June
28 Jun 2020
Class 2- Space Gallery
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Collective Worship - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Around the World Gallery
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 2- Wednesay 15th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 15th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 12th June
14 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Monday 8th June
07 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Class 2 - Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Class 2 -Tuesday 2nd June
01 Jun 2020
Monday 1st June
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
21 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
15 May 2020
Friday 15th May
12 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
12 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
12 May 2020
Monday 11th May
07 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
06 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
06 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
05 May 2020
Monday 4th May
29 Apr 2020
Friday 1st May
24 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
24 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
24 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
24 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
24 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
23 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
23 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Monday 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter Week 2
13 Apr 2020
Easter Week
06 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
27 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March
26 Mar 2020
Home School Thursday 26th March
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March
23 Mar 2020
Welcome to Home School
23 Mar 2020
Class 2 Home School Packs
21 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
World Book Day
10 Mar 2020
Fire Service Visit
10 Mar 2020
The Selfish Giant
14 Feb 2020
Our Village
03 Feb 2020
Programming The Probot Cars
27 Jan 2020
Forest School
20 Jan 2020
What do animals eat?
08 Nov 2019
Which dinosaur?
04 Oct 2019
UCI World Championships
04 Oct 2019
Country Dancing
04 Oct 2019
Number Bonds
20 Sep 2019
Budding Palaeontologists
14 Sep 2019
First Week Back
14 Sep 2019


ARCHIVE
 

Thursday 7th May

06 May 2020


Thursday 7th May 2020
7.5.20

  Good morning Home School! 



Morning work

Get your journals and copy and complete as many questions as you can. Think about quick ways to work out the answers. You might need to use a different method for each question. Is there a multiplication fact that can help? (I know that 4x2=8 so 8÷2=4)

 


Black  - questions for everyone

Blue - Y2













English
   

Watch the video to see which robot letter we are practicing today? 







Y1 practice the letter 'p' on the third page of your Handwriting Extra booklet.

Y2 find the page headed 'Joining to ch' in Handwriting 5 and practice the words 'chip' and 'chimp'.


If you sent an email to Monkey in PurpleMash you could check if he has replied.

Can you remember what is special about Friday?


Here are some songs that were popular the war:

 
Its a long way to Tipperary.mp3
 

 
 
Hang out the washing on the Siegfried Line.mp3
 

 
Click on the link below to listen to a song about Glen Miller who had a popular dance band during the war.


 
Hey Mr Miller.mp3
 

 
On Friday 8th May, Britain will be commemorating the 75th anniversary of VE Day when the guns fell silent at the end of World War 2. Thomas has had a great idea. Because we can't celebrate VE day together and most of the events and street parties that were planned have been cancelled or postponed you could share your pride in our country and honour the men and women of World War 2 by make a celebration flag or bunting and hang it out of your window on Friday and over the weekend. 

You can decorate your flag or bunting with whatever you want. Maybe the Union Jack, people celebrating, patterns using the colours red, white and blue. Here is an idea from the BBC and Megan's VE day drawing from yesterday also has lots of great ideas on it.



I would love to see what you have done so it would be great if you could send me a photo of your flag/bunting or your window with the flag/bunting hanging out!
 
 Maths
 
 I have 2 friends called Jim and Jan. They have been chatting about their names. What can you see that is the same and what is different about them?

Jim      Jan


During the war people had to send secret messages to each other so that the enemy couldn't read and understand them. Sometimes letters would be turned into numbers to make the message more difficult to decode. 

Jim said his name begins with J, has three letters and has one vowel.
Jan said so does hers!
Jim said his name could be written as 1 9 4
Jan said her name could be written as 1 1 5

Look at those two numbers. What is the same and what is different?

They used the table below to make their code. Can you see what they have done? Can you work out why Jim is 194 and Jan is 115? Why are the first two numbers in Jan's coded name the same when the first two letters of her name are different?




What would your name be using Jim and Jan's code? Write it in your Home School book. What would the names of your family be? Write them in your Home School book.

Below are some names and codes. They are all muddled up. Can you match the names to the correct code? How can you work out which code goes with which name? There are lots of different ways to do it and they will all work so you do it your way.






Match the codes to the correct names.



Optional Challenge: 1) Write a message using Jim and Jan's code. 2) Have a go at making up your own code.
 

Maths Super Challenge




Phonics/Spelling
  


Y1 Get your sound cards. Can you find all the cards that make the /oa/ sound? Think about the word sort you did yesterday. How many cards do you have that make the /oa/ sound?







Y1 and Y2 practice your spellings using the 'Look, Say, Cover, Write, Check' method on your spelling sheets then log onto WordShark. I have set this weeks spellings so you need click on the 'My Set Work' tab at the top of the screen. Practice spelling for 10 mins. If you are having trouble using Wordshark then choose 2 of your spelling words. Look at them then without looking again write a sentence using those words. Check - did you spell them correctly? 
 

Reading  

Y1 & Y2 Read a few pages from your school book. Then quiet reading for 20 mins - you can carry on reading your school book, or choose a book you have at home. Think about a quiet place you could go to read. Maybe outside?



Topic  


Strong healthy pea plants growing up the stick frame you made.

You must know what plants need to stay healthy and grow.









What a great job you have done planting poppies, pansies and sunflowers!










Click on the link https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zpxnyrd/articles/z2vdjxs to find out more about the life cycle of plants and how seeds and bulbls grow into plants.

 

Other Things
What else are you doing at Home School? 
Erin has made an animation about her garden.



You could have a go at making your own animation using 2Animate in PurpleMash.

 



I think we need to send this to Jackass so that he understands about books and computers.

 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
49  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time